News & Events
Scott Shepherd, Kim Ae-ran, Peiyi Li

2018 Essay Competition - Award Ceremony


Joint winners of the ALR / LTIK 2018 Korean Literature Essay Competition were announced on Wednesday 27 June at the Korean Cultural Centre in London.

The five shortlisted essayists, in alphabetical order, were Thuy Dinh, Claire Gullander Drolet, Peiyi Li, Scott Shepherd and Christina Westwood.

Grace Koh, Professor of Korean at SOAS, was joined by Asia Literary Review Editor in Chief Martin Alexander in reading all the (anonymised) essays and in selecting the finalists and winners. They very much enjoyed the judging process, and were impressed by the freshness of insight shown, the enthusiasm and engagement evident in the essays, and the detailed and well-argued responses to Kim Ae-ran's stories.

At the award ceremony, shortlisted essayists pitched their essays to an appreciative audience and, following the announcement of the joint winners, there was an excellent Q&A with the guest of honour, Kim Ae-ran. The organiser, MC and moderator for the evening was Phillip Kim, Managing Editor of the Asia Literary Review.

The joint winners were Scott Shepherd (a part-time student of Korean at SOAS in London), and Claire Gullander-Drolet (a PhD candidate in Literature at Brown University in Rhode Island, USA). READ THE WINNING ESSAYS HERE.

Kim Ae-ran, the judges, the Asia Literary Review and the Literature Translation Institute of Korea greatly appreciate the thought and care put into submitting so many excellent essays. We're also grateful to LTIK and KCCUK for their support in making the competition a success.


Sae (Interpreter), Kim Ae-ran, Phillip Kim

Sae, Kim Ae-ran, Phillip Kim

Yong Hoseong, Director of the Korean Cultural Centre in London

Phillip Kim, Kim Ae-ran, Sae

Peiyi Li (shortlist)

Martin Alexander

Scott Shepherd (joint winner)

Kim Ae-ran with Claire Gullander-Drolet's certificate

Martin Alexander, Scott Shepherd, Kim Ae-ran, Peiyi Li, Phillip Kim

Scott Shepherd (joint winner)


More News & Events

Please Register or Login

Register now for full access to News and Events, Web Exclusives, Blogs and Comments.

If you've already registered, please login.